Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS curriculum is an educational stage for children aged 0-5. Learn more about the Early Years Foundation Stage and how the EYFS supports development through the EYFS Seven Areas of Learning and Development with this helpful guide.

What is the EYFS?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum sets standards for the learning, development, and care of children from birth to 5-years-old. It’s the first stage of a child’s education. It ends when a child enters Key Stage One (KG1).

The EYFS is aimed at supporting the learning and development of children from birth to five years of age. It is directly aimed at supporting practitioners, teaching/education staff, and childminders who are providing care and learning for children up to the age of five. Typically, Nursery and Reception will cater for children aged between 3 and 5 years old. Play and more importantly, learning through play, is an essential part of the early years foundation stage. As children move into the reception year, a greater emphasis is placed on learning skills that will support and prepare children for Year One.

The EYFS not only sets out expected developmental milestones in the seven Areas of Learning and Development as well as developmental links, but also supports those working with EYFS age children in providing the correct support, provisions, and learning environment to best enable children to thrive and develop as well as be happy and healthy!

What are the EYFS assessment requirements?

To plan for successful learning, early years practitioners need to observe children to identify their interests, explore how they learn, and monitor their progress in each area of learning and development.

Reflecting on these observations means practitioners can shape learning experiences for individual children. As part of the assessment process, parents and carers should be encouraged to share their own observations of their child’s progress.

× Chat with Us?
Verified by MonsterInsights